It’s time for L-Gaim Mk II (aka episode 33)

by

Those of you with long memories (or a trip to the archive) may remember that we subbed the first 2 episodes of L-Gaim way back, but the project was dropped due to Shin-Getter suddenly coming back from the dead, and the project generally imploding. Since Shin-Getter dropped the project at episode 32, we’ve picked up from where they left off with a new translator Ametuchi, who did Mozaika.

I’ll put up links to the Shin-Getter subs when I can find them all.
Thanks to the anon who linked this in the release thread, all the Shin-getter eps:
http://daiphyer.com/index.php?/anime/522/Juusenki-L-Gaim
Since that lot is missing episode 26, here’s a link for it: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FGWLJAK2

Anyways, here is episode 33, where if you can’t remember the plot, Daba and co are on their way to Mizum.

Mkv:
DDL
Torrent

Xvid:
DDL

Tags:

31 Responses to “It’s time for L-Gaim Mk II (aka episode 33)”

  1. mitamaking Says:

    Oh thank you a lot, I was really curious whatever happened to L-Gaim, I guess I can get back to this series now.

  2. H Says:

    I have been jonesing for my Lilith fix for a long time. Too long… thank you.

  3. cosompcam Says:

    this is best anime series after series of (0079,z,zz)

  4. Gunlord Says:

    awsum 😀

  5. Jacopo Says:

    Worst Tomino ever (along with Garzey’s Wing).
    I can’t wait to Layzner ;(

  6. Phelps Says:

    Which of the Shin-Getter episodes are you missing? I have them all and would be glad to help.

  7. gamemen Says:

    Even if you search on japanese you’ll never find any info for this rar anime expect wikepedia page and スーパーロボット大戦Wiki just because it wasn’t under gundam name to me this is more interesting than gundam, at least I hope that Your enthusiasm in releasing for this will be equal to daitarn3

  8. regan strongblood Says:

    Jacopo this isnt the worst Tomino ever, I love this show!!
    Thanks guys for keep the L-Gaim dream alive, I will make sure to promote this on my next anime podcast!

  9. Puck Says:

    Thanks for continuing!
    Is it possible that Shin-Getter could send you guys the scripts to release soft subs for the previous episodes?
    That’s the only thing I didn’t like about Shin-Getter’s releases, hardsubs.

  10. Zeoraimer Says:

    The link:

    http://daiphyer.com/index.php?/anime/522/Juusenki-L-Gaim

    Seems to be missing op 26

    I didnt see a way to notify the owner that they were missing one ep to their great collection!

  11. Hybridchild Says:

    Hey guys I’m glad to see someone picked up where we left off.

    I tried to get some people together to finish this off after Shin-Getter broke up but I couldn’t get in touch with MDK about finishing the translation so it stalled there.

    Puck I have most of the scripts but I couldn’t give them out without the translators permission, sorry.

  12. Zach Says:

    Wow, awesome news guys! Looks amazing here! Just a question, though: Any word on some of the other projects? Has Sasword just vanished or do you need a new translator?

    • starseeker Says:

      sasword’s just vanished. We believe him getting a girlfriend is involved. Layzner is being picked up by the 2 remaining translators, Great Mazinger has rough scripts up to episode 40 and we have the DVDs, but Getter Robo is on hiatus until either he reappears or we find another translator.

  13. Zach Says:

    Ah, so Great Mazinger and Lazyner are still being worked on then?
    definitely looking forward to seeing more of them. Let me know if there’s any help I can give with finding a translator.

    • starseeker Says:

      Layzner is, Great Mazinger currently isn’t, but is the easiest to get picked up again, so it’s most likely to.

  14. Zach Says:

    Awesome. Thanks, Starseeker. Any ETA for the rest of Layzner?

  15. Zach Says:

    A week or two beats months and months. Hopefully before too long, though. Dying to see the rest.

    Thanks, Starseeker.

  16. Windom Says:

    Just wondering, how ‘rough’ is the script for great Mazinger? Is it easy enough? Maybe I can help or something?

    • starseeker Says:

      I don’t know. I’ll have to ask Chirlind next time I see her on IRC.

      • Windom Says:

        Right then. I figure if it’s nothing too tough (a super robot show from the 70s shouldn’t be too tough, right?) maybe I could help or something.

  17. Zach Says:

    Oh, Starseeker, if you need a proofreader for the English on Layzer or GM, I’d be happy to give a look

  18. Zach Says:

    I’d be glad to read them over.

  19. Jack Says:

    Is this show any good? I watched it a little bit some time ago around February 2010 and it wasn’t so good, but that was only the first episode or so.

    Is it like Ideon, Layzner, Yamato, Gundam Zeta and such?

  20. Jacopo Says:

    No it’s not.
    It has awesome mecha design, but very poor story and terrible characters. Tomino and Nagano instead tell that this show was a disappointment, because it was intended only to train the young Sunrise staff for the ambitious Z Gundam (that came out the year after).

    • starseeker Says:

      It’s not that bad, but it is definitly a B-string 80s mecha show. The plot never quite seems to know where it’s going and the characters get some development but remain a bit flat. But the mecha are damn sexy though.

    • Pyoro Says:

      I’d like a source on Tomino & Nagano saying that L-Gaim was a disappointment…

  21. Jacopo Says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L-Gaim#Notes
    Here Nagano says it.

    The source for Tomino is on venus Wars manga vol.2, italian edition (Magic Press).

Leave a Reply

