Layzner 35-37

by
Sunset couple

Sunset couple

I originally wanted to have the whole series out for our 5th anniversary which I thought was today….then I got dates muddled up and stuff happened behind the scenes, so this is only a triple bill that’s 2 days late. So close enough.
And yes it’s been 5 years, the first posts on the /m/subs forum are from 27 January 2009.

And before anyone in the comments gets overexcited, Layzner has 38 episodes.

Anyways, this three parter is definitly the point where the rug gets pulled out from under the show, because the plot gets jumpy. First up we have an episode that goes all Indiana Jones and revisits the Cuzco subplot…it’s a weird episode. Second, we have what would normally be the beginning of a leadin to the hero’s mecha getting an upgrade due to actions of the villains. Thirdly we get Le Caine/Ru Kain suddenly becoming a shounen manga protagonist and the appearance of every Super Robot Wars J player’s ‘favourite’ boss to deal with.

35: Torrent
DDL

36: Torrent
DDL

37: Torrent
DDL

Tags:

20 Responses to “Layzner 35-37”

  1. gunlord500 Says:

    :O!!!!

  2. Luurah Says:

    Is anyone having trouble with the Ep36 torrent? Vuze won’t automatically start the download once I save and open it. (Ep35 and Ep37 torrents work normally, and I’m seeding them ATM.)

    • starseeker Says:

      Did you max out the number of total download/upload slots in your client?

      • Luurah Says:

        I don’t think I did. To be on the safe side, I removed several older torrents from my client and tried opening the torrent again and it still didn’t automatically come up. (I use Vuze.)

        • Luurah Says:

          I tested the ep36 torrent today… and this time it worked. I don’t know why it wasn’t working earlier, but I’m glad it’s working now. Thank you. 🙂

          Now to wait for the conclusion… whenever it may be…

  3. Dudeguy Says:

    Three episodes at once, what a surprise, thank you !

  4. Phoron Says:

    Hard to believe that’s it’s finally so close to completion. Thanks for all the hard work!

  5. Reizuna Says:

    I love you.

  6. Skriitka Says:

    You are so amazing! Thank You for all Your hard work!

  7. anonymous Says:

    Didn’t you guys do the OAVs?

  8. Nanto Says:

    As far as I’m concerned you *have* successfully completed the series. Personally I think episode 38 isn’t very good, doesn’t properly end the story, and people would be better off just downloading Act III from BlueFixer and watching that instead. But I understand how episode 38 should get a proper release, as well as that recap episode, for completeness sake.

    Of course we’ll still never know how the cliffhanger ending of episode 37 was resolved, unless there’s some story written by the creators in one of the fan magazines like Out or Animage.

    Anyway, happy anniversary to /m/subs and all of the hard working people involved in subtitling these classic mecha shows for us to enjoy!

    • Kellhus Says:

      These final episodes really are jumpy and almost make no sense. I haven’t watched the OVA myself but yeah, there is little to take from episode 38. The last few episodes in general are all over the place, which is truly a shame, because the second arc gets off to such a great and promising start. I think the Indiana Jones-esque episode is the worst in the entire series (35?).

      Pessimism aside, the show is a classic and one of the best of the era despite flaws. Great to see it winding down finally.

      • starseeker Says:

        Yeah 35 is Indiana Jones escapades and the Cuzco plot. I had to check several times I hadn’t skipped an episode by mistake.

  9. Daray Says:

    Any chance of re uploading the first batch of episodes or compiling in a single torrent? MU being dead and all…And btw, thanks a lot for your work

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Hate to be >that guy< but…

    Any ETA on Layzner 38? It's been over two months since 37 was released and getting blueball'd with one ep to go isn't fun (even if the final ep isn't much of a final at all).

    And since it's the first time I'm commenting I'd like to thank you for subbing the series. Then again maybe it doesn't sound very sincere considering this is pretty much a 'subs fucking where' post.

    • starseeker Says:

      It’s held up because 25 is a bitch and want every episode subbed (also if you want the proper ending, watch the OVAs, 38’s a very rushed ending)

      • That guy Says:

        But 25 doesn’t even have that much stuff that requires real translation, does it? I mean, it’s basically a couple of scenes from previous eps (which you already translated) glued together (very poorly) so it shouldn’t be much of a problem.

        But yeah, I guess I’ll just have to wait a bit longer.

        • starseeker Says:

          That’s what I thought….then I realised it’s mainly using the first 8 episodes, which are….flawed in the TL department. It was less headache inducing to just go ‘sod it’ and do it from scratch until it uses bits we did.

Leave a Reply

